top of page

Overtraining – A Serious Concern

One of the greatest struggles I have had to overcome throughout my running and fitness experiences is over-training; a problem that many people often don’t consider.

I have a very rigorous schedule incorporating both running and strength training up to 2 times a day, several days a week. I built into this over a long period of progression and have since grown accustomed to this amount of exercise.

One thing that pushed me into overtraining was not this schedule, but rather other additional social physical activities. In an attempt to stick to my regimented schedule I would complete both my workouts and then join my friends for additional games of volleyball, racquetball, basketball and other cardio intensive sports that left me burnt out.

I found myself getting injuries more frequently, saw a decline in performance and progress towards my goals, and had a harder time paying attention in my classes. I could tell my body was at its limits, but I let it continue.

Eventually I ended up with plantar fasciitis and several join injuries due to increase in extended periods impact on my joints and feet. I went to the doctor, and to no surprise found that I had been overtraining.

With these injuries, I had to avoid physical exercise for multiple weeks, setting me back even further than I intended.

As a note to anyone looking to enter into fitness, make sure to listen to your body. Ignoring fatigue and other symptoms of overtraining can lead to a serious dilemma. Overall health and fitness require appropriate rest and maintenance.

To learn more about the symptoms and impacts of overtraining click the link below for additional information.

bottom of page